Update of EPAct ’92

Update of EPAct ’92

The Energy Policy Act of 1992 requires the state regulation of new building construction through building codes and standards. Specifically, EPAct ‘92 refers to BSR/ASHRAE/IENSA Standard 90.1989 (ASHRAE 90.1-1989) as the standard which commercial buildings greater than 3 stories must meet or exceed.As of November 1997, 29 states have adopted a commercial energy code which meets or exceed the provisions of ASHRAE 90.1-1989. These includes the 4 most recent additions: Louisiana, Maryland, Oklahoma, and Wisconsin.

Enforcement is solely the responsibility of the individual state as is any penalties associated with non-compliance.

The Model Energy Code was originally developed jointly by Building Officials and Code Administrators International (BOCA), International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO), National Conference of States on Building Codes and Standards (NCSBCS) and the Southern Building Code Conference International (SBCCI), under a contract funded by the US Department of Energy (DOE). The Council of American Building Officials (CABO) maintains the Model Energy Code. Versions of the Model Energy Code (MEC), beginning in 1993, reference ASHRAE 90.1-1989. The latest version of BOCA (1996) references ‘95 MEC which references ASHRAE 90.1-1989.

Minimum motor efficiency is also associated with EPAct ‘92. As of October 25, 1997, all motors in the range of 1-200 hp, NEMA design A and B, 230 & 460 volts, 3 phase, 1200, 1800, and 3600 rpm must meet the minimums set forth in NEMA Standard MG1. This includes motors manufactured and imported into the US. See October 1997 issue of TechTalk for additional details.


Reprinted from TechTalk January 1998
Copyright 1998 by ITT Industries

States with Energy Codes Greater or Equal to ASHRAE 90.1-1989

  1. Arkansas
  2. California
  3. Connecticut
  4. Delaware
  5. Florida
  6. Georgia
  7. Hawaii
  8. Iowa
  9. Kansas
  10. Louisiana
  11. Maine
  12. Maryland
  13. Massachusetts
  14. Minnesota
  15. Montana
  16. New Hampshire
  17. New Jersey
  18. New York
  19. North Carolina
  20. North Dakota
  21. Ohio
  22. Oklahoma
  23. Oregon
  24. Rhode Island
  25. South Carolina
  26. Utah
  27. Virginia
  28. Washington
  29. Wisconsin